Jeremiah Nails Creations, Singapore

AS you pull the door across to enter Jenny’s nail parlour an overwhelming rush of lemongrass hits your nose. This is immediately followed by surprise at how small yet perfectly formed her working environment is. A tiny oasis amongst big brash beauty salons, Jeremiah Nail Creations is a welcome respite from the bustle of Far East Plaza.

Following a warm welcome and a moment to choose your varnish colour (I was looking for something neutral and Jenny picked me the perfect shade) you are offered a seat before the foot basin. As the hot water rushes in violet orchids rise to the surface on a crest of lime and lemon slices, knocking about against sticks of freshly cut  lemongrass. Then your pedicure begins.

Jenny favours a natural approach, learnt from her mother. As she gets to work on my feet (I’m going to be spending many months in flip flops…) we get chatting, Jenny’s English allowing for easy conversation. She moved from Malaysia to Singapore almost twenty years ago, but has been doing manicures and pedicures for over thirty.

This particular base in Far East Plaza has been Jenny’s for ten years, and over this time loyal customers have developed. Her clients are from across the globe, not just as a result of word of mouth, but through features in publications in countries such as the UK and Japan too. All this is disclosed to me by Jenny with utmost humilty, a soft hint of pride shining through when I am told of a woman visiting from Japan who waited six hours for an appointment after having read about her back at home.

As Jenny methodically tends to my feet – identifying areas of discomfort and rectifying them, enthusing at how much better I will now feel when walking – I am told how lucky I was to get a slot. I booked ahead, like all clients must, for walk-ins are virtually unheard of at Jeremiah Nails Creations.

I am then moved to a little table underneath which my feet are placed in the dryer. Whilst I look around the humble surroundings I note that the magazine rack is not just stuffed with glossies, but large knobbly bits of fresh ginger too. The conversation flows. I am learning of Jenny’s forthcoming trip back home to Malaysia, near Langkawi, the first in many years; and at the same time she is slicing up new ‘ingredients’ for the nest client’s foot bath.

Eventually it is time to leave this little haven of fragrance, pampering and hospitality. I feel thoroughly relaxed, my senses having been delighted not only by the scented bath, but by a mint scrub and cocoa butter massage too. It is as much Jenny’s charming conversation and personable company as her gentle treatment of my feet that has made for a wonderful pedicure, and I have no problem in seeing why she has a devoted following and receives so much positive press.

If in Singapore I urge you to visit Jeremiah Nails Creations (men too, I went here following a male friend’s recommendation), just make sure that you book ahead. Oh, and at only $36 for a pedicure it’s an ablsolute bargain for what you get!

Jenny Sim

+65 9677 8965

14 Scotts Road #04-68 Far East Plaza

Singapore 228213

Comments
One Response to “Jeremiah Nails Creations, Singapore”
  1. Lottie Nevin says:

    Sounds absolute heaven. I wish I’d known about Jeremiah Nails when I visited Singapore. I’ll check it out for my next trip. I loved the photos especially the one with the magazines and the ginger root. 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • on instagram

    There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

  • and all that’s in between

    loves and hates, hints and tips, observations, musings and reviews; on food, fashion, travel and art; and all that's in between...
