wish I was there: CERVO, Switzerland

FOR some reason I’m currently experiencing a desperate craving to go to Switzerland. It’s been creeping up on me bit by bit, but has now escalated to such an extent that I’ve virtually planned my whole trip. And if it wasn’t for my current lack of funds you’d probably be reading a ‘Travel Bite’ post.

So, instead of jumping on the next available flight to Geneva I’m putting all my energies into daydreaming of transporting myself to what has now become the object of my desire: Cervo. This boutique hotel is situated on the slopes of Zermatt, a unique place where there are no cars – only electric taxis or horse-drawn carriages.

With views of the Matterhorn and a slope-side location, if you’re interested in  mountain hikes, skiing or snowboarding – with spectacular views to boot – then this is the place for you; all that you need is on Cervo’s doorstep.

It’s not all energetic hikes and racing down slopes though. For those like me who prefer not to over exert themselves during an escape away there are meandering meadow walks and a spa on site. However I know that if I did happen to feel adventurous that I’d be straight on the Gourmetweg trail: a not too hard hike with great food stops along the way.

But apart from the indulgent activities available, what’s really gotten me excited  about Cervo is its restaurant. With a clear emphasis on local game – offering tapas options for full spectrum delectation – reading the menu induced some serious tummy rumbling. Even now, I’m drifting off in my mind to a time when I can be nestled within Cervo’s wood clad dining room amongst its red and white checkered upholstery, leisurely making my way through the following, all from the current mid-summer menu:

– Ravioli with wild duck, port wine and rose hip jus

– Pheasant consommé with pheasant dumplings

– Deer ragout with rich Valais red wine sauce, glazed pearl onions, home made Spätzli, red cabbage, glazed chestnut and apple with mountain cranberry

– Warm damson with sour cream ice cream

Finally, to round off a day of site-seeing, pampering and eating, I can think of nothing better than lounging on Cervo’s terrace, basking in the warm setting sun (or snuggling up in a woolen blanket next to one of its outdoor fireplaces on a crisp winter’s evening) and taking in the views with a drink from the bar. All this before plopping into bed, exhausted from all the fresh mountain air, ready to start all over again the next day.

Ahhh. Bliss.

Just need to make the money to get me there now…

Comments
One Response to “wish I was there: CERVO, Switzerland”
  1. laurahartson says:

    looks pretty incredilbe, one to add to the bucket list
    http://www.sandbetweentoes.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

  • on instagram

    There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

  • and all that’s in between

    loves and hates, hints and tips, observations, musings and reviews; on food, fashion, travel and art; and all that's in between...
