on my plate: Goat’s Cheese, Walnut and Dried Cherry Tomato Loaf

OFFICIALLY it’s a savoury cake.

But I can imagine that for some it may be slightly disturbing to imagine a categorically sweet item being hijacked by Mr Savoury. I struggled with the concept myself. When baking this ‘cake’ I was convinced that I was in fact making a savoury bread. Not exactly a wild new concept. So I’ve decided to use the term ‘loaf’.

Anyway, more to the point this savoury cake / loaf / bread thing was DELICIOUS. Adapted from Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s recipe, I made use of some newly acquired special delicacies from my recent trip to Turkey: walnuts (granted not that unusual, but so much better than our supermarket varieties) and dried cherry tomatoes (not the sun-dried kind, therefore pretty unusual in my opinion).

This thing was ridiculously simple to make. (Especially for a ‘bread’.) And its springy texture and abundance of flavour made for a truly scrumptious treat. My chosen combination of ingredients did result in quite an intense mouthful of salty, gooey, nutty hit – little chunks of tomatoes adding a sweet tang once in a while – but… It. Was. Gooooood. A little went a long way.

Whether eaten on its own or with butter, in the form of a single entity or as little buns, I can guarantee that you will be addicted to the wondrous discovery of this adaptable baked good. It will become one for all occasions: a lunchtime treat, an afternoon snack, a dinner accompaniment or the star of the picnic hamper. And that’s without even contemplating the topping opportunities.

Next on my agenda is a carrot and feta version with hints of cumin. Picture it smothered with saganaki or being used to mop up a rich tomato sauce when tucking into a Greek tapas-style meal. I think I may be drooling already…

Comments
3 Responses to “on my plate: Goat’s Cheese, Walnut and Dried Cherry Tomato Loaf”
  1. Karen says:

    Your loaf, savory cake kind of thingy looks scrumptious no matter what you call it. I can’t wait to hear about your carrot, feta, cumin version.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] on from my previous revelatory savoury cake experience I decided to head back to the baking tin once more; this time inspired by flavours from […]



Leave a Reply

  • on instagram

    There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

  • and all that’s in between

    loves and hates, hints and tips, observations, musings and reviews; on food, fashion, travel and art; and all that's in between...
